View Full Version : ADHD and university

nicolascostadem
05-11-16, 12:50 PM
Hello, my name is nicolas, from Argentina and I'm joining to this site cause here in my country people don't take care too much about adhd.basically I'm here cause I'm studying in the college and it's my third year. The problem is this year I'm totally confused, the things are not going as before, I'm having bad notes in my exams and I have a really big problem to organise myself; so I'm preparing all the things just in the end and I'm in trouble. I'm taking Ritalin, it's helping me to get more focused in my reads and when I'm in class, but now I'm not having the same results as I used to have. Basically I think my problem, is find a way to organise myself but sounds impossible to me. Thanks if you're reading this! I hope answers!

Pilgrim
05-11-16, 06:15 PM
Magnesium.

nicolascostadem
05-11-16, 06:25 PM
Thanks for reply! I read a bit about it, how much do you think I should take? After or before Ritalin? Thanks!

Pilgrim
05-11-16, 07:10 PM
Spray on ,because of absorption, off the top of my head I can't remember the type of magnesium.
You need to take a bit, you will notice when it's working. I would take them at bedtime.

John732
05-13-16, 10:14 AM
Hi. I used to be in the exact situation as you.

First, Ritalin or any other stimulant for that matter is just a tool. Ritalin will help you focus and concentrate. However, from my experience, organisation is a skill you have to learn. Ritalin will allow you to complete a task but it will not teach you how to prioritize or complete the important stuff first. It is something you have to learn and master through practice. Here is a good article you can read through http://www.additudemag.com/adhd/article/537.html

I'm taking Ritalin, it's helping me to get more focused in my reads and when I'm in class, but now I'm not having the same results as I used to have.