View Full Version : How to increase effectiveness and avoid tolerJust got diagnosed & prescribed Vyvanse.

emoxify
05-17-16, 08:03 PM
I am a teenage girl who finally got diagnosed with ADD recently. I was prescribed 20mg vyvanse. In the past, I have been very sensitive to anti-depressants and mood stabilizers. This is my first time taking a stimulant.

I have taken it twice so far.

The first day I took it about 30 minutes after I ate some toast with vegan butter and a tofu/veggie scramble. I also took vitamin C, D and omega 3 before my breakfast. I felt much more clear headed (more than ever before) and quite energetic for the first half of the day (almost like I drank and energy drink). My focus was so much better and my appetite was suppressed a bit (until it wore off after about 10-11 hours).

The second day I took it about 30 minutes after my breakfast which was a smoothie (almond milk, vanilla, mango, banana, spinach) and the same vitamins as listed above. I did not feel energetic like I had the day before, my appetite was not suppressed, and my ability to focus was not altered very much at all.

What should I do differently? I want to increase and maintain the effectiveness of vyvanse for as long as possible. I don't like being on high doses of medications (unwanted side effects). I read online about decreasing vitamin C and increasing protein at the dosage time. Is this true? I also read something about magnesium helping to avoid building a tolerance. Any advice or insight on why after only 1 day the effectiveness wore off? Is it because I am on too low of a dose maybe??

C15H25N3O
05-19-16, 02:09 AM