View Full Version : Effectiveness of Ritalin inconsistent

addn00b
05-20-16, 12:22 PM
Hi!

I've been browsing around this forum for quite a while now but, since I couldn't find the answer to my current issue, I finally bothered to create an account. I was diagnosed with ADHD (I don't actually know what type to be exact, my psychiatrist wasn't really specific but based on my symptoms I think I am a little hyperactive but mostly inattentive) late last year. Upon diagnosis I was prescribed a small dosage of Ritalin (starting with 5mg and increasing gradually until I "reached" a dosage I felt was right for me). As I am a student and I don't really have any other responsibilities - I live at home and do not work - my main issues with my ADHD are basically concentrating on my uni work. Since I was diagnosed during my finals exams, I was only able to "test" the effectiveness of Ritalin for a short period last year. After exams I did not test the medication as I felt it unnecessary as my symptoms are not really that much of a drawback outside of school.

At the beginning of this year, however, I moved to Europe to study abroad for a semester. I had an appointment with my psychiatrist beforehand, where I mentioned any side effects I got from the medication and gave my initial impressions on the medication. Initially, it was great. It took about a week to figure out that 5mg was much too low a dosage as it simply put me to sleep and did nothing to help with concentration. 10mg was great. In fact, I recall being really excited during my last exam - not because I thought I was doing well at all, but because I could actually see what was being asked, if that makes sense. Where usually my mind is all foggy and I'm thinking about a million random things at once while trying to describe what the mitochondria of the cell is, being on 10mg of Ritalin was nice and quiet. So I simply assumed that Ritalin would always work the same way and didn't bother to test it out any further.