View Full Version : Husband and I both have ADHD... children

hopefulLiz
05-25-16, 03:24 PM
Hello,
So my husband (age 25) was diagnosed w/ ADHD as a young child. He has always held jobs, but has trouble paying attention and focusing and being driven with things. I (age 26) strongly believe that I have ADD, but was never diagnosed. I have all the symptoms and have trouble functioning, but am wary of meds which is why i haven't pushed the diagnosis, but might have to at some point. I also have a sister with relatively high functioning autism. Other than the fact that we are working through marital issues and both currently in a 12 step program working on ourselves, would you worry genetically about having children?? Like are they all doomed to have major developmental issues? I really long to be a mommy more than anything and he longs to be a daddy. I'm just learning to take care of myself, but we also don't want to wait too long as I have hormonal issues and my family isn't that fertile, so i worry about infertility greatly and find I obsess about having babies; it just doesn't feel like the right time yet. We might try to conceive next year (although we use natural birth control and had had lapses and nothing happened). Anyone else here have ADHD and their spouse does too and have had kids? Do your kids have worse issues than you both? If they functioned at our level, that wouldn't be the worst, but if it was double as bad, that would be upsetting. Maybe we'll be infertile and adopt. I'm honest worried about being functional enough to be responsible for a child, let alone a child with special needs (they would be very loved, i just hope i could).

Blessings!!

BellaVita
05-25-16, 05:59 PM
Hello and welcome to the forums! :)

I'm sorry to hear you have all that stress weighing on you.