View Full Version : Brain Fog, Creativity and Strattera

pedro6666
06-22-16, 06:56 AM
Hi everybody,

I've been eliciting information from this great forum for almost two years before deciding to register. I'm writing because of a great sense of frustration (and an urge to procrastination :D ) coming from my bad experiences so far with the ADD medications.
Let me recap briefly my history.
I had been officially diagnosticized ADD when I was 26 (now I'm 28), in the mid of my PhD. I have a mild form of ADD, which I was able to interiorize and control when required to do my job at school by means of a strong will and sense of duty. While controllable for the level of complexity of everyday life, my symptoms had me having unnecessary hard times in my graduate studies. Procrastination, a tendency to space out at the first sign of environmental pressure, emotional instability and, more importantly, a tremendous lack of concentration when required to produce articulate thinking is what drove me to a p-doc.

Unfortunately, my journey through ADD medication has been so far long and obnoxious. While most of p-doc who visited me recognized the symptoms of ADD (coupled with depression and huge lack of motivation), they validated my impression that that stimulant medication have no benefit over my endeavour.

Before trying stimulants, I tried to self-medicate with Wellbutrin. While I had been amazed by its effect on motivation and stamina, I had been forced to stop it because it somehow exacerbated ADD symptoms.

While beneficial for motivation, stimulants such as Ritalin or lysdexftroampetamines in dosages anywhere close to standard medication doses, produce two remarkably negative effects:
1) make me feel "mentally constipated". I feel my head full of a gray "substance" which forces me into simple and very scattered thoughts.