View Full Version : Maintaining Healthy Weight while on Adderall

addsoccer84
06-24-16, 08:07 PM
This is a big question. I have had sessions with my counselor and then a couple sessions with my psychiatrist, and we have all communicated with my doctor to determine whether or not I have Adult Attention Deficit Disorder. After these sessions, they have diagnosed me with Adult ADD which has been a great weight lifted off of my shoulders when it comes to understanding why I have been struggling with work, school, and the number.

They have written me a prescription for 20 mg of Adderall generic to take once a day. I have already been on the road to losing some weight before all of this. I currently am 5'6" and started at a 150 lbs, and now weight 145. I want to get to a goal of 125. I have been counting calories going in and going out for about two months now.

So my question would be, can I maintain my running schedule to maintain healthy weight loss away from the appetite suppression that Adderall will stimulate? Piggy backing off of that, if I maintain calorie intake to my best ability will I gain weight while taking the medication or will I lose weight faster? Lastly, will I gain weight instantly post medication even thought I maintained healthy weight loss while taking the prescription initially.

I know it'll be hard to determine all of that because of the medication's side effects, but I don't want to hit goal weight after actually keeping up with a healthy regime and then slow off the meds and gain weight back and then some.

Thank you to everyone that is able to help me understand!

GoalieMel33
06-24-16, 09:39 PM
I'm currently around your size and also working on losing a couple more pounds (started way heavier, been working out for a few months now).