View Full Version : training and nutrition advice for the ADHD'er

FLJourney
06-27-16, 03:52 PM
Hey guys,

I just wanted to start a thread for questions or concerns surrounding nutrition and/or strength training.

A little about me: I've struggled with ADHD my entire life. Diagnosed in elementary school and again at age 28. As a kid, ADHD controlled my life. I was a terrible student, always acting up in class and teachers didn't know how to get me to concentrate. I struggled with compulsive eating, being overweight and a negative self-image. Most of which no one knew about largely because I was one hell of an actor.

Looking back, I had been substituting exercise for medication ever since I can remember. I’d always loved to play sports and I loved going to practices. It was the only time I felt strong and confident. In middle school and high school I would wake up early to work out before school by running around the backyard trees in a track and field fashion and banging out sets of pushups and sit ups – my uncle who was a collegiate wrestler taught me a few conditioning drills and I’d do them too. This was my Adderall, I just hadn’t figured that out yet.