View Full Version : ADHD and Marraige

Lala86
07-03-16, 01:41 AM
Not sure if I should post this here or in the relationship thread, but I am struggling in my relationship. My husband and I don't have the best communication to begin with and my ADHD makes it really hard for me determine what's really going on.

I posted here, because I wanted to know what any of you ladies have found to be helpful with all of this.

Thanks!

Corina86
07-03-16, 11:59 AM
Not that I'm an expert on relationships, but in order for others to relate to your issues, you should be more specific about them. Why exactly don't you and your husband communicate properly? Are you having issues expressing yourself verbally, listening, do you get over-emotional during conversations, do you have anxiety about talking to him etc? Does he have any of those issues or others? What exactly do you want to communicate to him about and you're not succeeding? Are you medicated for ADHD? Does he understand your disorder?

sarahsweets
07-04-16, 03:49 AM
Not sure if I should post this here or in the relationship thread, but I am struggling in my relationship. My husband and I don't have the best communication to begin with and my ADHD makes it really hard for me determine what's really going on.

I posted here, because I wanted to know what any of you ladies have found to be helpful with all of this.

Thanks!
Hubby and I are both adhd. How I deal with him is different then how he deals with me.
I recognize that while I am quick to come to a conclusion and anytime something major happens I instantly want to fix it, he needs time and space to think about it first. If I want to have a major discussion, I try to give him a preview so he can think about things before we engage in the serious sh*t. He tends to get overwhelmed if I fire questions as him or lay out five different subjects and expect him to grasp each one.