View Full Version : Outbound call center

julialouise
07-05-16, 11:14 AM
My job practically kills me. The only reason I force myself through it is because it's just a couple dollars above minimum wage. I work in an outbound call center where we ask people in foodservice to do surveys over the phone. I can hardly focus or stay awake on the job and I'm never able to sit down at my cubicle for long. It's also really stressful because more than half the time, the people on the other line would rather do anything besides talk to you. I'm a college student so I need to save money and do as much work as possible, but it is just so difficult. Any advice? Or anyone with similar issues?

Chicky75
07-05-16, 03:28 PM
Ugh, that sounds like my nightmare job. Actually, it was. One of my jobs in college was doing political surveys over the phone. At least then, everyone still had landlines, so there was a chance of getting a busy signal!

Have you looked at other options? I work with a lot of people who are looking for part time or flexible schedule full time jobs that pay more than minimum wage. The three types of jobs that seem to pay a little better are:

Healthcare or health insurance call centers (inbound)
Security officers
Jobs working for support companies at the airport - for example, a company that provides the meals for flights

Little Missy
07-05-16, 04:02 PM
Wait tables! Big money, short hours. :)

stef
07-05-16, 04:11 PM
uggh i did some phone sales during college
it was 3 hours a night
i hated it!

KarmanMonkey
07-08-16, 02:50 PM
Ask yourself if the extra couple $/hr is worth the cost to your sanity.