View Full Version : Previous smokers who gave it up while on adderall/stimlant meds?

AcctUhd456
07-30-16, 06:29 AM
I've been smoking 7 years and it has got worse since 2 years ago when diagnosed.The only time I don't smoke is when I'm not taking the meds.Whatever dose I have been on that works means I'm going to have at least 10 cigarettes or I'm going to be miserable.I wish I could quit because I want to know what my life would be like consistently being a non-smoker while consistently taking medication since I would be more productive,energetic.I noticed quitting while taking medication is so much harder than quitting without medication.Matter of fact I stopped taking medication on purpose many times just to quit only to decide I need the medication..

Does anyone have any experience with this who overcame this problem?I would appreciate it.

sarahsweets
07-30-16, 08:18 AM
I am horribly addicted to smoking. I am an alcoholic in recovery and I am so afraid if I stop ill drink. Im working on getting over that fear. I dont know why but it does seem like I smoke more medicated.

AcctUhd456
07-30-16, 09:14 AM
Alcohol is addictive since its legal even though its more dangerous than some recreational drugs.I use to work at a banquet hall and saw with my own eyes that lots of people NEED to drink at formal parties because they won't have as much fun without it.These aren't addicts either..its practically half of adults.
I didn't have any nicotine from from June 5tht till this past Tuesday when I got meds since I cancelled last 2 appointments because of insurance,running late for interview.So I was actually smoke free while NOT taking it was a VERY positive outcome except I shied away from anything that required sustained mental effort..

You should read a book by Allen Carr called "the easyway to stop smoking" if you haven't already.Good book.

Pilgrim
07-30-16, 09:59 AM
Just a couple of my experiences re smoking.