View Full Version : Pregnancy and meds

spunky84
08-08-16, 01:44 PM
I know I posted something similar back when I first joined, but it's become more of a discussion with my husband.

He's really started talking about trying for a baby. The thought was to get pregnant this fall so the baby would be due after I graduate school but before I start working.

My only concern is going off the meds completely. I'm on vyvanse 70 mg and then 15 mg Adderall IR booster for afternoons. I asked my midwife before I was diagnosed (when I was waiting for my appointment to be diagnosed) how would that work if I ended up on meds. She said I'd have to go off them.

I know that these meds aren't considered safe during pregnancy, but at the same time, when the benefits outweigh the risks, some stay on them.

I'm terrified of going off of them. They've made a huge improvement in my life. I'm a full time nursing student, and I'm expected to graduate at the beginning of next May. School was excruciatingly difficult prior to diagnosis. I pretty much only got by because of the amount of caffeine I had on a daily basis which wasn't even consistent and certainly wouldn't be safe in that amount in pregnancy either. Studying was impossible. Reading for assignments were impossible. My stress levels were through the roof because of it.

Since starting the meds, my stress levels have significantly decreased because I have been able to study and focus. My clinical performance went from struggling to doing very well.

I'm scared that I'm going to end up failing out if I go off meds. It's not even like we can wait until I graduate, get pregnant, have a baby, take 8 weeks (would be having a c section) to recover, and then go back on meds and get a job. We can't push back me getting employed back that much (unless obviously it's just because I can't find something).