View Full Version : Advice for a 46 year old guy attending community college for AAS degree?

Radio Hiker
08-08-16, 06:32 PM
Hey all,

For those of you who aren't familiar with my presence here on the forum, I currently work as a production manager for a building maintenance company. I sort of fell into this position. When I applied to the company I now work for, I was originally applying for a lower (non-supervisory) position. As it turned out, I found that I enjoy management and I feel a sense of fulfillment when I am able to solve a human or logistical challenge.

So, I am looking seriously at going back to school at the community college level and earning an AAS (Associate's in Applied Science) degree in Business Administration, probably with a specialization in Management. This is not a transfer degree, but rather what used to be commonly referred to as a "vocational degree".

I attempted community college once before, and I found that my biggest challenges were procrastination and getting too involved socially with other students. While the first challenge is definitely an ADD thing, the second is partly due to the fact that I went to a small town elementary and high school, and I was bullied and ostracized a lot. When I made my first attempt at community college, in my mid 20's, a whole new world opened up to me, socially speaking. It was too easy to lose focus on my main reason for being there--to earn a degree, and immerse myself in the social aspects of the situation. I ultimately dropped out, because of these two challenges, and because my mother became seriously ill and I was the only close relative who lived nearby who could care for her. I was also working a full-time janitorial job in the evenings.