View Full Version : Drinking too much

Hermus
08-13-16, 05:00 PM
Since I was 14-15 years old I always have been a quite heavy drinker. At that age I used to come home drunk a lot of times in the weekends. Then when I was about 17, I also started drinking on weekdays. Mostly when I had an hour in between classes or after school. in the area where I grew up it was quite usual for people to drink a lot.

Later when I started studying I kept drinking a lot and at times started to drink even more. Lately during the summer months this drinking really has gotten a bit out of hand. Therefore, a few days I have decided to totally quit drinking for a while. However, I find that it's very hard for me to cope. Next to coffee and water, I now sometimes drink non-alcoholic beers, so I still can have somewhat of the taste of beer without the alcohol.

Tonight I had a barbecue party with my family, something that in general isn't that bad. However, without the alcohol I feel a bit depressed and I've got some cravings. It's really difficult and I just need some support. This week I'm going to the hospital again where I'm treated for ADD. I'll bring up the problem I have with alcohol, but I just don't know whether I should take treatment or not. Is it an alcohol problem or just a liking for drinking a lot?

midnightstar
08-13-16, 05:09 PM
If you don't drink alcohol, does that cause your body to be like "You *must* give me alcohol right now"? I know you said it gives you cravings, what I'm getting at is how strong are the cravings?

Is it like your body telling you "I fancy some alcohol" or is it like your body saying "I need some alcohol right now"

Hermus
08-13-16, 05:17 PM
It's not really my body saying it needs alcohol at the moment. Although I had times that I functioned badly without drinking. It's more like having a strong mental desire for alcohol and getting depressed when I don't get it. If I don't drink I just feel bored and I don't feel well in social gatherings.