View Full Version : employment/disability/insurance advice needed

fibonaccigirl
08-15-16, 12:50 AM
I currently work as a full time nanny and get paid under the table. My husband was previously working 2 jobs but quit one of them and is attending college this fall. Because of the hit to our taxable income, we decided to pursue making my job a legit income. (boss is on vacation, so we haven't ironed things out yet)

I've also been shopping for a new insurance plan because I'm aging out of my parents coverage in September. In applying for insurance, they ask about your job and income, and then if you qualify for disability. I'd never thought about applying for disability before, but after reading the requirements, I think I'd have a solid case.

So....
Would it be more beneficial to claim disability and keep my nanny gig under the table? The main reason I don't have a "legit" job is ADHD and depression prevented me from completing any college degree.

I realize it'd take some serious paper pushing, but if it helps get a better insurance plan, or helps pay for a better insurance plan, it'd be worth it.
Anyone with insider knowledge or experience? :confused:

Cyllya
08-16-16, 01:35 AM
You're asking us if you should commit disability fraud. I don't think anyone's going to say yes to that, even if it were possible to make more money that way. (Plus, if you get caught, besides a criminal record and possibly jail time, you will be ordered to pay restitution (https://oig.ssa.gov/audits-and-investigations/investigations/may11-illinois-fraud), i.e. give the money back.)

I think there are some ways that you can (legally) get disability-related benefits while working, if you have a small income. If not actual funds, you could probably get at least Medicaid or Medicare.

sarahsweets
08-16-16, 06:01 AM
No disrespect but I find it highly insensitive and offensive that you would think so little of the disability system that you would look at it as bonus money and hide your income.