View Full Version : Quitting gym to enjoy health again.

Bluechoo
10-06-16, 07:39 PM
I am stuck in a rut. I generally enjoy being active enough to stay in shape, and I have been consistently lifting weights for almost two years now. I used to really enjoy it. But now the thought of finishing my my work day filled with screaming teenagers, and then driving, in LA traffic, to the gym, where it is always crowded and I usually have to wait in line for a machine I want to use, to spend way too much time getting a workout that should only take 30 or 40 minutes, utterly depresses me.

I started lifting weights as a means of organizing my life and managing some ADHD symptoms, but now its effects are less therapeutic and more bothersome. Now, I plan to cancel my gym membership and workout at home. I may buy some kettle-bells eventually; they are extremely versatile and can be used for almost movement. For now I will just start with pushups, pullups wherever I can find a bar, and body squats.

I may lose a little mass, but vanity is no longer a very influential force in my life, and I believe having the freedom to do my workout wherever I feel like will be far more beneficial for my mental well-being.

This decision also makes sense to me in regards to managing ADHD symptoms. The ADHDer thrives under changing environments and the freedom to explore.

Has anyone else had a similar experience, and were you pleased with the results when you adopted less conventional (but more convenient) methods?

Unmanagable
10-06-16, 09:25 PM
I failed miserably at following through with going to the gym.

I'd forget my bag with gym clothes, or start heading in the opposite direction and wouldn't want to turn around, would get there and have to wait, or felt like an idiot and way out of place while there. (I was over 300 lbs in those days)