View Full Version : Excessive job failures. What to do?

AndreaC
10-12-16, 09:27 PM
Hi Everyone.

I was diagnosed with inattentive ADD at 34 years old in Jan 2008; right after I had my daughter. I'd always felt something wasn't right with me because I couldn't seem to function well on any of the jobs I've had. I'm lacking big time executive functioning skills. I've had several jobs since I graduated from undergrad in 1996. Since that time I've been fired from 4 jobs due to an awful time mgmt, planning, organization and follow-thru. I've also been laid-off 3 times. It's taken a huge toil on my professional life as well as my self-confidence and self-esteem.

Fast-forward to the present. After having been unemployed for 5 mths due to a lay-off, I'm at a new job in a completely different industry. Going into this new job I was filled with anxiety because ADD sabotages most of my jobs and it has caused me not to trust myself or my abilities. I've only been at this new place 3 weeks and my manager got on my case today because I'm not producing as quickly as I should be. Even though I know what I have on my plate, I still struggle with figuring out what to do first. Do I do this top priority thing first or do I handle this urgent email request that's come up? My mgr gave me documents to file away to use as a training resource once training began. When she asked me to pull up the docs on training day, I drew a complete blank. I had no idea what files she was talking about until the next day! I know she's probably disappointed that she hired me. I sound awesome on paper: master's degree, 15+ years of job experience at impressive companies. But when it's time to show and prove is where I always seem to fail.