View Full Version : Teachers and quitting mid-year

demfabbones
10-15-16, 06:29 PM
This will probably be a long post so bear with me (or you know... don't read this! lol.)

I am a 5th grade teacher and have been at my current school just this year. This is my 5th year teaching although I've had other jobs in between. Teaching has changed so much in just since I started in 2009. This isn't supposed to be a rant about the sorry state of education, but if you don't know how bad things have gotten, please, ask a teacher you respect some time. You will be shocked and saddened.

I work at a school where 20% of our teachers have quit since the year started in August. The ones I've talked to have quit because of stress. Clearly I'm not alone in having these thoughts. I work every single Saturday and work about 60 hours a week. I wouldn't mind doing this if I felt like I was scaling a mountain, but it's an avalanche. Every time I dedicate myself to understanding something or making something work in my classroom, our administrators change their expectations, or add new/different ones. I am constantly behind. Having ADD clearly doesn't help. My weekends are constantly ruined by having to do last-minute things which are either my fault but are more often than not something we are assigned Friday afternoon. If I made more money, maybe I could justify how much I'm missing out on my personal life because I could be saving for a better future. But I make what you'd expect a teacher to make and I have no benefits, and I spend at least $20 a week on classroom supplies.

This weekend I have missed not one but two out of town day trips I was supposed to take with my boyfriend and our friend because of work stuff that came up last-minute, despite me getting things done so I could have a good weekend. I get so resentful about these kinds of things. I give so much of myself emotionally at work that I need to be able to take SOME time to recharge in the evenings/weekends.