View Full Version : Please help, advice needed - poor time management

loveispeace1984
10-24-16, 09:20 PM
Hello,

I'm writing because I am in need of help. I am a very smart person who suffered a traumatic brain injury (TBI) three years ago. I am still very smart, but a residual side effect is adult ADHD. Specifically, I have terrible time management and memory issues. I completely forget goals, schedules, etc. I never went to the doctors to get my TBI diagnosed. All I had money for at the time was audiological exams. I ended up losing a great deal of my hearing through this accident as well.

This memory and time management deficit is a huge problem because before my injury, I was in grad school to become a librarian. I am now a school librarian, but life is hard. I know cognitively how to prioritize, but no matter how many stickies I write or how many calendars I use, I forget things and get distracted. I forget the darn calendar! I am constantly interrupted at work. Even if I wasn't, I'd be interrupting myself.

Are there any jobs out there for people with poor time management skills? And by this, I mean people who cannot balance their own schedule and the schedules of everyone else (what my job is). My own time is enough.

I'm so tired and sad about feeling incompetent and lazy when I know I am hardworking and smart. I don't know what to do. I never had ADHD as a child (that was my brother), and now that I live a life where I look around and realize I'm not doing what everyone else is expecting me to do, I'm sinking fast. I am beginning to hate myself. I have no family to support me. I'm a foster child who is now a self-supporting adult.