View Full Version : overwhelmed mom- new here

drazen04
10-28-16, 09:54 AM
Hi,

My daughter is 12. Nothing has ever come easy to her. When she was 18 months old we had EI come in for PT because she wasn't walking. By age 3 we had her to a developmental pediatrician due to all developmental delays with the exception of talking, but yet she stuttered (I am a speech therapist). The ped ruled out autism, PDD, Asperger's and said that she had a myopathy that was causing low muscle tone and that it was not neurologically based. Since that time DD has had two eye surgeries for strabismus, OT/ST in school and had an IEP from 1-3rd grade. The IEP ended once she was on Adderall and we found it was working well.
Now she is in 7th. Everything has changed with the onset of puberty it seems. I took her off the Adderall because she was MISERABLE- did not want to talk, listen, follow directions, eat, sleep or be touched. Within a day of being off the Adderall she was my old sweet girl again. However, she could tell me what was going on too, and could NOT focus. Her handwriting became worse than a preschoolers and she was unable to get points at school for anything handed in because the teachers couldn't read it. I couldn't help her with math because I couldn't read what she was writing can couldn't get her to slow down. She said that slowing down made her arms and head hurt.

She also told me that she loves a certain cartoon character, and wants to be like her, "to fill a void". She is obsessed with this character, but she threw away all of dolls of this show (my little pony equstria girls) last year and is now uset that she did. She has no friends and has no interest in socializing.
She is doing odd things like sticking her hands down her pants and then smelling it/putting her hands in her mouth.
She doesn't understand cause and effect it seems. She says that kids are making fun of her, and knows why, but it doesn't occur to her to stop these odd behaviors to stop the bullhing.