View Full Version : I need advice on how to become more productive

TheArtist
10-30-16, 03:10 PM
I dropped out of school quite young, and I never did listen while I was in class. I am primarily self taught. My ADD always gave me issues.

I am 29 now and I have been working for over a year to complete my GED. It took me a year to do 2 tests, but I passed them with decent scores. What's left for me is science and math- both subjects I never paid much attention to in school. I am having to learn BOTH subjects from the "ground up" - so to speak, as I never learned about them in school. Although it is overwhelming, I find it rewarding. However...

My ADD badly inhibits my ability to be productive. I struggle with simple tasks.I did my laundry for the first time in months. I go through a very long process in order to complete any task.

Lately, I've been skipping class because I feel guilty for not doing my homework and as a result, I'm getting very far behind. It's starting to make me very depressed and hopeless. My question is:

What helps YOU be more productive in your life for the things that you need to do? How do you cope with this disorder? What can I do to help myself? How can I get back on track with school?

Note: Therapy is not an option anymore as she moved away and I live in a remote location with little resources. My behavioral therapist was the only reason I even tried to get my GED. But she's gone now and I need to figure out how to do this on my own.

john2100
10-30-16, 03:49 PM
What helps YOU be more productive in your life for the things that you need to do?
-severe consequences caused by no action
-real deadlines ,again with some degree of consequences

dvdnvwls
10-30-16, 05:58 PM
Getting back on track with anything is one of the major problems most of us with ADHD face on a fairly regular basis.

Getting back on track with school means (partly, at least) getting back on track with some or all of your teachers.