View Full Version : I flip out in certain situations. Not sure if it's a sensory overload or ODD?

11-03-16, 07:10 AM
So I'm a junior in high school. When I was a freshman I was diagnosed with oppositional deffiant disorder, anxiety (which I've been dx with since I was 5), dysthymia depression, auditory processing disorder, and the psychologist said I had "aspergery traits."

The only ODD traits I really show is getting mouthy at home (but what teenager doesn't?). At school I get pretty smart with my administration, usually I get the whole "[my name] dont get Smart with me." But likely my admin loves me despite my behavior so usually they think it's funny. I also do this thing where I bait authority figures into yelling at me or whatever, but it's only at school. I'm not really sure why I do this, but I kind of enjoy the feeling of getting in trouble.

The problem is, is that in some situations I completely freak out, and I feel like it's more of a sensory overload thing. Here's some examples:

- I got searched by 3 cops at a high school football game. (I did not bait this search in any way shape or form) they had their flashlights strobing (as a way to 'pull us over') so I already had anxiety. Then when they stopped us, one of the cops tones was very cocky, and he immediately started asking questions before I even had time to evaluate my situation. While he was asking questions he put his bright police grade flashlight in my eyes. At that point I blacked out and started cussing them out. They then escalated the situation by surrounding me where one cop was behind me, which I didn't like not being able to see him. And just for the record I left a free woman about an hour later, and I did not have the drugs or weapons I was accused of having.