View Full Version : According to my doctor, this is my last medication option

JFK4525
11-07-16, 11:08 PM
I apologize in advance as this may get pretty lengthy but i would greatly appreciate it if anyone had any helpful input.

A little background about my situation to start i guess:

I am 21 years old and I have ADHD. I was diagnosed at age 9. Tried stratera early on but apparently it didn't work. I don't really remember that time very well. No other medications until i was a freshman in high school, I didn't know i had ADHD yet at this point. As far as I know I was prescribed vyvanse and Adderall at different times in varying doses until I was about 16. I remember these terrible terrible crashes from the meds every day after school. I didn't know why it was happening but i felt really bad so I would just hide in my basement and play xbox until it passed. neglect my homework, responsibilities, and when my parents would try to tear me away from my hiding hole..... I remember having really unpleasant arguments and fights with them. They adjusted my dosage for a couple of years and eventually when they told me I had ADHD I was about 16 or so.

I ended up wanting to join the military and the recruiter told me I needed to be off the meds for 6 months and prove i could maintain normal life functions without it (basically I had to provide report cards to show my grades before and after the meds to show there was no effect) so I said fine, 6 months starts tomorrow. Well plot twist, they didn't take me anyways, dragged me along for a couple years until I found out the documentation from my original doctor in another state had been destroyed. but that little bit isn't terribly relevant to this. sorry for the tangent.