View Full Version : Newly diagnosed- Concerta 18mg causing drowsiness?

kuroikitsune
11-08-16, 01:43 AM
Hi everyone,

I am a 26 year old female who was recently diagnosed with ADHD, and I started on Concerta 18 mg a few days ago. I am a student, so I was really hoping the medication would help me focus on my schoolwork better.

I do notice better engagement with the material, less tendency to fidget around, and fewer intrusive/unrelated thoughts while I am working. I also feel calm and relaxed instead of anxious and agitated. This is wonderful, and exactly what I want out of a medication.

However, I was very surprised that, even as a stimulant, the Concerta seems to make me markedly drowsy within an hour or so of taking it in the morning. This wears off a bit over the course of the day and I can do some work, but only for about 4-5 hours. At that point, I don't really feel any benefit from the Concerta and I start to get tired again in the later afternoon (not good for studying). I can fall asleep easily at night and get plenty of rest with no apparent disruptive effect from the medicine.

I live in Japan, and the only available medications here are limited to Concerta and Strattera. Ritalin IR can only be used to treat narcolepsy, but not ADHD...

I have an appointment with my doctor in a few days, but I wanted to ask for some input from this community before meeting with him and discussing further options...

I have heard drowsiness can be caused by too high of a dose-- but is this likely when I am only on 18mg and the positive effects only seem to last for a few hours?

Is it possible that the drowsiness could go away once my body gets more used to the medication? How long should I stick it out before looking into a different medicine like Strattera?

Thanks for your help!

sarahsweets
11-08-16, 05:36 AM
Hi everyone,