View Full Version : Difficulty of Diagnosis

Koningkrush
11-16-16, 12:50 PM
Hello, I'm not sure if I'll necessarily find some profound solution for anything, but I felt like sharing my problem to see if anyone else has found themselves in a similar situation.

I've been to a primary doctor who believes that I have ADD and prescribes me Adderall, but I decided to see a psychiatrist to hopefully receive an "official" diagnosis, partly for self assurance as well as getting my insurance to pay for medications (they cost me $75 a month for generic XR).

During this visit, I was given an interview to discuss my history and why I feel that I have it. This was difficult, because I have general anxiety and was constantly afraid of saying something wrong or forgetting to say something important. For elementary through high school, I explained that I was a terrible student in nearly everything up to high school where I began to feel a sense of urgency about my performance (GPA and all). I went from a D/C student to a straight A student nearly throughout all of high school.
I really have no idea how this happened. I never worked hard or studied at all. Nothing actually directly changed in my behavior. I guess my brain decided that what I was being taught was "important" now, and I just easily strolled through my classes. I could never explain how I had high grades; I just did.