View Full Version : Untangling this mental mess...

tobyf93
11-22-16, 02:04 AM
Hi,

This is my first post on this forum. I’m hoping I can get a clearer picture of what I am going through by hearing from people that have been through similar issues as I am quite confused with it all at the present. I apologise if this gets long, I’ll try to only include important bits.

I’m going to start with my high school years (age 12 to 18) as I think they are pretty important. Throughout all of high school I was a heavily devoted student focused on doing well. I found it a bit hard fitting in at school so I suppose I used study as a bit of a coping mechanism in that regard. I had friends outside of school that I found I had better relationships with. The later years for me at school were regarded by me as ‘important’ so I always made sure I knuckled down and worked hard. And the results I earnt reflected my efforts.

At the end of high school in Australia you sit the HSC (Higher School Certificate) which is considered a fairly big thing leading up to University. It was the months leading up to these exams that I became aware that I was being heavily affected by anxiety. I was putting so much pressure on myself to do well. I was concerned with continuing my successful streak of grades and I finally cracked... There was one exam in particular that I believe was the main worry and that was one that required me to memorise 3 essays. That to me was like a brick wall. I just couldn’t see how I could possibly achieve that. I ended up getting estimated marks as I wasn’t able to sit the exam and it was then that I started on anti-depressants.
Since then I have come to know anxiety quite well and have tried multiple anti-depressants. It has interrupted my further education and work life and sent me into depressive episodes. In fact I find myself in a very depressed state at the moment.