View Full Version : Successful and can focus, but still have multiple thoughts at the same time

castalia
11-25-16, 09:07 AM
I am an academic with ADD and although I can focus on what I am studying and/or writing, my problem is that in addition to the subject at hand, I probably also have 2-3 additional thoughts at the same time.

Let's say I am reading a paragraph from a paper. I will be reading that and understanding it but at the same time I may be thinking about a) why my boyfriend didn't respond to my text and b) when will that woman who owes me money pay me? All this constant thinking makes me very tired and I can't function unless I have many, many breaks throughout the day. A lot of people are surprised by how productive I have been (already have 3 books and 10 articles under my name), but I can't really work to deadlines. I think it has more to do with motivation and a desire to become successful in my field than anything else.

Is this making sense? I am here to prove to you that one CAN be successful as an inattentive ADHD type, but you can't structure your work life on a 9-5 schedule.

Little Missy
11-25-16, 09:21 AM
Are you on medication?

stef
11-25-16, 09:25 AM
It totally makes sense to me...I'm very much like this at work.
only if I'm in some extreme deadline or something fascinating (ie, translation or fussing with charts and diagrams) , do i not have backround thoughts.

Little Missy
11-25-16, 09:38 AM
It totally makes sense to me...I'm very much like this at work.
only if I'm in some extreme deadline or something fascinating (ie, translation or fussing with charts and diagrams) , do i not have backround thoughts.

Absolutely, it is constant with me. I don't know what it would be like without them.

stef
11-25-16, 09:40 AM
I should have said "absorbing" instead of fascinating
I's not fascinating to make a flow chart, but I really like doing these kinds of things.

castalia
11-25-16, 12:35 PM
No, not on medication. Just supplements.