View Full Version : Methylphenidate Side Effects

AgoraB
12-01-16, 07:33 AM
Hi,

I've just discovered this wonderful place :)

I am new to all of this and my husband and I been having some doubts concerning the possible side effects of Concerta and the easiness with which his shrink has been prescribing it to him.

My husband (41) was diagnosed with ADHD almost 2 months ago and was put on Concerta (18mg - is it the smallest dose?). He takes it once a day (in the morning) and the results have been amazing - he's excelling at work and got promoted, he takes on more responsibilities at home, some of the consequences of the ADHD like the social anxiety and obsessive behaviors have vanished.... He says that he can "use his brain" finally and that he feels as he has just walked out of a life-long fog. He is in great shape (eats right and exercises). Don't get me wrong, I like this new version of my husband, I do not pine for the times when 90% of the responsibility for everything from cooking, cleaning to paying bills, organizing our documents, social life ... was on my shoulders. And I am aware that this therapy is only helping him use everything that he already has and helping him be what he already is, that it is in no way making him into someone new.