View Full Version : School accommodations to job accommodations?

john2100
12-01-16, 06:51 AM
[MODERATOR NOTE: This post was split from a thread on receiving accommodations in a college/university setting (http://www.addforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=181713) so as to allow this conversation to continue without derailing the other thread.]

Are you then required to tell you future employer you have a disability that requires you have special accommodations before being hired?
Also why can't people be on disability who have adhd,anxiety or depression?
It just doesn't add up.

Let say I save a severe ADHD, I'm getting fired from every job,but I have a degree because my university was just the best in accommodating me.
Shouldn't I be on public assistance program ?

TygerSan
12-01-16, 05:31 PM
Let say I save a severe ADHD, I'm getting fired from every job,but I have a degree because my university was just the best in accommodating me.

Theoretically, that's what vocational rehab is for, working within your strengths and weaknesses and finding a job that you can actually perform well at and keep.

Hiddencreations
12-01-16, 10:45 PM
[MODERATOR NOTE: This post was split from a thread on receiving accommodations in a college/university setting (http://www.addforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=181713) so as to allow this conversation to continue without derailing the other thread.]

Are you then required to tell you future employer you have a disability that requires you have special accommodations before being hired?
Also why can't people be on disability who have adhd,anxiety or depression?
It just doesn't add up.

Shouldn't I be on public assistance program ?

Answer to you're first question: No. Federal laws prohibits an employer from asking about a host of personal characteristics and factors, including a disability, during the interview process. It is up to the person whether they want to disclose a disability, but no one should feel obligated to do so.