View Full Version : Advice from an adult new to ADHD medication.

Bombtrack81
12-05-16, 12:34 PM
Hi guys, I've never posted but I think that when you have information that can be helpful to people you should always share it, I'll do my best to be brief.

I am a 35 year old male and I am a lawyer, I am also a survivor of childhood cancer. In university I found that I wasn't performing as well as my straight A's in high school. At first I thought I just chose the wrong undergraduate degree, my marks plummeted. I ended up getting my marks to a point where I got into law school (not my first choices though). In law school the same thing happened, but worse....I started doing very poorly on exams I would study very hard for. Finally I saw a doctor, long story short, I was diagnosed with "chemo brain", a lot of childhood cancer survivors get this sort of inattentive fog as they get older and it is due to your brain being pumped full of chemo when your brain still in some key stages of development....it is very close to what people who live with ADHD deal with from I have been told.

I struggled in law school and if not for doing very well as a summer student and getting some very nice letters from the firms I worked for as a student I probably would be jobless....I'm a smart guy but if you put an exam in front of me I give the impression that I am a moron.