View Full Version : Question: Dopamine and Serotonin?

Melodrama
12-06-16, 10:24 PM
Hello,

I was diagnosed with ADD (Not ADHD) this summer. I am currently depressed and have been all year essentially. I am recieiving anti depressants tomorrow, and because I have extreme Anxiety I wanted to come on here and have some one explain some things to me.

Both my psychiatrist and therapist believe I have a "chemical imbalance." I was given a stimulant known as Evekeo (similar to Adderal) first because my psychatrist wanted to treat my ADD before my depression to see if I would be less anxious about school on the stimulant. It failed to effect me, in fact it increased my Anxiety.

My question is: Do I have a Dopamine or a Serotonin deffiency? What drug is right for me? I heard some where, and I could be wrong, if you have both a seratonin and dopamine deffiency, by taking a serotonin anti depressant the dopamine deffiency only gets worse, is this true? That is why I want to be sure.

Background:
Male, Age 16, introverted, Generalized Anxiety Disorder, Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, constantly thinking, constantly worrying, constantly over analyzing and over complicating everything, very low self esteem, no self confidence, feels inferior to others, family history of alcohol abuse anxiety and PTSD, bullied physically and verbally in middle school, girlfriend moved to another state in 8th grade, I find it very hard to move on, easily guilty and ashamed, social anxiety, avoids engaging social interaction due to fear of rejection or feeling inferior, easily effected by others, sensitive both emotionally and physically, I did not like having my picture taken at age 3, looses friends easily, hates body image and hair, insecure, perfectionist.

Thanks for the help.

sarahsweets
12-07-16, 06:05 AM