View Full Version : Love addiction

Hermus
12-22-16, 02:43 PM
When in rehab I learned quite some interesting things about myself. One is that I have a love addiction. This means that I seek valuation in relationships with women. In the past this has led to troubles by developing unhealthy relationships too quickly, that soon turned out to be destructive. Often these relationships ended pretty soon and afterwards it was difficult to me to let go. This had a damaging influence on my mental condition.

Now I'm back and sober from alcohol suddenly my love addiction comes up much more strongly than before. One of the things that is regularly advised is a year of abstinence of romantic and sexual relationships. To me this seems like a reasonable first step into recovery. Yet, I feel like this is already getting difficult right now. Multiple women have shown romantic interest in me and I'm not good at keeping them at a distance. There are multiple lines I have kept open and I'm texting a lot with the goal of finding someone to get sexually and/or romantically involved with.

Another thing that is regularly advised is to establish bottom line behaviour. These are behaviours not to engage in, in order to stay sober in respect of love addiction. Total abstinence for the rest of my life is not my goal. But it would be great to have some bottom line behaviours for the year of abstinence. Yet, I don't know exactly what things to include and what not. Anyone any suggestions or ideas?

Fuzzy12
12-22-16, 03:14 PM
I'd assume that you include the things that you don't really want to do but might do for the sake of getting or maintaining some sort of romantic or sexual relationship/experience.

Unmanagable
12-22-16, 03:51 PM
1. Close the lines you've left open for potential romantic/sexual possibilities. Those energies will continue to haunt you while they're actively awaiting your attention. Energy flows where attention goes.