View Full Version : Meeting with Boss and Supervisor

finallyfound10
12-30-16, 01:03 AM
This may be the beginning of the end as I had a long overdue meeting with my Unit Director and Supervisor.

I'm a nurse and made a med error which could or could not have been been due to ADHD. A patient had been receiving a constant rate of a narcotic for a high pain level from a PCA (Patient Controlled Analgesia) pump for the entire shift that had him. https://www.drugs.com/cg/patient-controlled-analgesia.html This was the first time in 2 years of being a nurse that I had a patient on a constant delivery of a narcotic.

The next day I had him again and the doc discontinued the continuous rate (while keeping the part where the patient presses the button when they need it) BUT I didn't read the order correctly so I didn't stop it and they continued to receive the the pain med for hours longer than they were supposed to.

I DID that the doc had put an order in, read it quickly and clicked the 'acknowledge button' but thought that it was just to continue the med NOT to stop it. By acknowledging it- it means that I understand the order and will carry it out.

I could've gotten written up but didn't, just verbally counseled.

But we then went on to talk about other issues that I have- and have had since I was in nursing school and knew I would have as a bedside nurse. Bedside nursing pretty much has to be done for 1-3 years to get other jobs away from the bedside. Then the all too familiar words and phrases were used: scattered, attention to detail, time management, critical thinking (part of Executive Functioning), the usual. My Boss even mentioned ADHD in a kidding kind of way BUT not in the kidding-but-really-being-serious way which may have been easier than the way she did mention it.

At this point there is no point in copping to it. Get on ADHD meds- I am. (third one), may be an anti-anxiety med- was on one (third one) until a few weeks ago and going back on one next week