View Full Version : How do you get to sleep when using ADHD meds?

Dave911
12-30-16, 07:53 AM
I've been using Dexamphetamine on and off for about 7 years. I've taken about 4 months off and am restarting in 5 days. I'm starting university next year so I need it. The problem I have always had is falling asleep. In the past my Dr has prescribed me a low dose of Seroquel, but to hell with that medication, it's horrible and I'm not gonna take it ever again.

Can anyone recommend something I can use with the Dex that can be taken long term? I'm not a fan of anti psychotics as they just mess me up and make the dex less effective. I've also tried Mirtizepine in the past and that helped me sleep but also made the dex not effective at all.

aeon
12-30-16, 11:23 AM
Take your Dex early enough in your day that it is out of your system by bedtime.

Especially with the IR they have in Australia, this should not be difficult.

Cheers,
Ian

sarahsweets
12-30-16, 11:38 AM
Build a routine of good sleep hygiene and stick to it. I assure you in most cases this does the trick. People call me the sleep Nazi for a reason. :)

Swissy
12-30-16, 11:59 AM
Magnesium is a supplement that helps with sleep. I have seen more than one person recommend it with adderall. I needed it when I first started a couple months ago, but now I am ok... I work weird hours that change a lot so I start waking up at about 2am and this continues every hour until morning �� But I do this even on days I skip the meds

Fraser_0762
12-30-16, 12:08 PM
Get an hour of exercise in the evening after you're finished work/uni. Also, don't eat anything within a couple of hours before bed time. Get into that routine and you'll sleep like a log.

DJ Bill
12-30-16, 12:32 PM
Trazadone...but you gotta know you'll be under its influence for at least 8 hours.
Proper sleep hygiene really helps too. My brain has never done well without 8 hours of sleep. And rotating shift work is torture for me. I don't do it anymore.

Fraser_0762