View Full Version : Shout for help....

timothywilsons
01-03-17, 09:43 AM
Hi All,

I fell across this forum whilst googling today. If the consensus is that I'm in the wrong place then please let me know. I'm just trying to work out what I'm likely to have, and if there are others in the same position as me. Knowing I'm not alone in being like this would help. I'm not good at brevity, but I'll try...

I'm in my early 40's and a pretty intelligent / bright guy. Exams and stuff never phased me, decent brain and better memory. About 10 years ago I crashed during a challenging sales job and got diagnosed with depression. I've had 3 "doses" and fought it via CBT and Fluoxetine (Prozac) - 20mg per day.

For the past 6 months I have really struggled to focus. I can't read anymore (I used to devour books) because if I read then I have forgotten it all by the end of the page and I start again. I can't study, as my memory has gone. I write notes to remind myself and forget where I have put the notes.

My eyes glaze over all the time, talking to people or watching TV. I love football, but within a week I've forgotten who played who or what my teams scoreline was. If I try and write an email at work then I will normally stop 5 or 6 times to do something else. I'll just randomly open a browser and then search for something random, or I'll log onto Ebay for no real purpose.

I am fairly short tempered these days. My "brain" is so busy, numbers / finances / share prices / dates all just running through my brain at such a speed. I can sleep for 8 hours or more and wake up shattered.

I have a new job now, managing people. In my previous role I could blag my way through. I am still fairly sharp and I'm fairly articulate, so I have been covering this for months. I bit the bullet this morning and booked a GP's appointment - 1 month from today is my first chance.

I just want some peace in my head, and the ability to focus again. I feel so stupid now compared to how I know I used to be.