View Full Version : Constantly failing college classes for over 10 years and counting

sour_princess
01-12-17, 05:52 PM
Perhaps this is the wrong place to post this, but I'm in desperate need of some support and knowing that maybe someone else is going through what I have.

As the title says, I have been working on my bachelor's degree for over ten years and I'm not even halfway through earning my degree--and that's not because I take time off or take one class at a time. This has been a secret struggle of mine that started around when I began high school, and it has only gotten worse over time. Or maybe I'm just wearing out my coping mechanisms. As a result, I fail classes left and right, even classes I'm interested in, because when it comes time to study, memorize homework, or write a paper, I completely flounder. For the absolute life of me, I can NOT do these things--but what's silly is that I know I have it in me, that I'm totally capable. But at the same time, I'm not--I've taken some classes four times and failed them all, classes I enjoy! This extends to work, too, as I've held many jobs for short periods of time and now have been unemployed for over five years.

I feel like a complete failure and I'm extremely upset about it. Treatment for bipolar hasn't help, treatment for anxiety hasn't helped, treatment for depression hasn't helped, therapy hasn't helped, meditation hasn't helped, good diet and exercise haven't helped... but about two months ago I was put on Wellbutrin and for the first time in a very, very long time, I felt totally "normal". I was able to record and organize information, create my own study guides, and write a paper! It felt like I had finally experienced clarity...until this past week. I've been feeling the effects of Wellbutrin wane little by little, and now I can't even concentrate or focus anymore--I barely passed my last quiz because I couldn't study for it beforehand.