View Full Version : From my blog: What Do I Do With My Life

ADHD Chic
01-14-17, 02:21 AM
Hi,

This is my first time posting in this forum. I copied and pasted some ideas, as to why sometimes it's hard for us to find the right job or job. I read one thread where someone is considering disability. I understand, several years ago, I thought about applying for disability.

As a person with ADHD, I decided to help others, who ask “What do I do with my life?” by getting them to understand what pulls their passion and intellect. As a little girl, I remember my grandpa saying, “If you love what you do, you will never work a day of your life,” as I climbed on the items, I placed on a chair because I was wanted to reach the cookie jar above the refrigerator.

First, we need to know our strengths, interests, and passions. We are intricate people with different pieces to the AD/HD condition with changing degrees. ADHD is individual because of the combined subtypes creating different skill sets and challenges for each ADHD person. It is where you thrive and struggle. No two ADHD people operate the same way. The right job depends on you.

Finding the right job is a big deal. Oh look! A ball with blinking lights. Everyone has something to bring to the world. For most adult ADHD, we are stuck with the mentality “I can’t” because we are so busy trying to survive our difficulties. These difficulties restrict us from our true potential, talents, and strengths. I find Repetitive work boring and lose focus. My mind wanders. I have nothing to hyper-focus on. The world in general pressures adults to make major career decisions and we struggle with this concept. When drawn to careers for the bling of excitement we don’t stop to consider whether it is a good fit or not. We don’t ask, “Can we learn new things and be challenged? What the tasks and responsibilities? Will I get bored?”