View Full Version : Changing doctors

cokoo1
01-14-17, 07:20 PM
If I've been diagnosed by a psychiatrist and have started treatment/medication with them, how complicated is it to find a new psychiatrist to manage my medication? I'm not happy with the care I'm getting from the current psych or their whole practice in general... and am CONSIDERING seeing a new person.

Will a new doctor make me go through the whole entire process of getting evaluated/tested/diagnosed before I get treatment? Or will they continue my treatment from where I'm currently at?

I'm hesitant because the medication has started to improve my quality of life and I'm still new to it/in the titration process, so the thought of having to restart from square 1 feels like a nightmare... Not to mention a waste of time and money (currently unemployed).

Any help/info/advice highly appreciated.

ToneTone
01-15-17, 12:01 AM
it's not a nightmare ... different psychiatrists want different amounts of patient history. Best to just go for it if you really want a change.

In my experience, my new psychiatrists always continued with the previous medication I was on ... That's the safe option apparently ... Then over time, they're willing to make changes. At least that has been my experience.

The new ones seem to want to wait before making a change. Don't know if that is helpful to you.

Tone

cokoo1
01-15-17, 12:25 AM
it's not a nightmare ... different psychiatrists want different amounts of patient history. Best to just go for it if you really want a change.

In my experience, my new psychiatrists always continued with the previous medication I was on ... That's the safe option apparently ... Then over time, they're willing to make changes. At least that has been my experience.

The new ones seem to want to wait before making a change. Don't know if that is helpful to you.

Tone

Hmmm makes sense... Guess it's just about taking a chance with new doc.

sarahsweets
01-15-17, 03:11 AM