View Full Version : Chronic Lateness

pnsinha
01-25-17, 01:45 PM
I have a hard time with sleeping early, so I get late for office. This happens almost every day. I have got frustrated with my behavior. As I work as a researcher independently with a University, there is no check on me. Any advice fellow ADDers.

aeon
01-25-17, 01:51 PM
use timers and alarms

adopt good sleep hygiene behaviors

get medicated, if need be

Cheers,
Ian

dvdnvwls
01-25-17, 02:57 PM
This may sound obvious, but you might try choosing a much earlier time to wake up and do that every day.

Fuzzy12
01-25-17, 03:28 PM
This used to be a huge problem for me as well. I was a postdoc so no one really bothered much when I showed up but I hated going so late and coming home late.

The only thing that helped was to line up things in the morning that I had to attend such as meetings.

Also, when I had a bit of morning routine (smoke and coffee first thing after arriving) that I really looked forward to that helped me a bit as well.

Little Nut
01-25-17, 03:32 PM
I have a hard time with sleeping early, so I get late for office. This happens almost every day. I have got frustrated with my behavior. As I work as a researcher independently with a University, there is no check on me. Any advice fellow ADDers.

Hey PN, wondering if you are unwilling to get up at the proper time and follow through preparing for and leaving for work or if you are truly unable to? Regards, -LN

PS Not some sort of snarky question.

Fraser_0762
01-25-17, 06:28 PM
I'm quite fortunate in that my time keeping when it comes to getting to places on time isn't that bad. I use what I call buffer. Which is basically giving myself extra time to get ready. If I need to get somewhere early in the morning, I make sure I have at least 2 hours of head room, even if I only need half an hour.