View Full Version : Undiagnosed, need opinions

Annieburtt
01-29-17, 07:23 AM
Hello, I'm Annie. I have not been diagnosed with add yet by a Dr. I have done online research and taken tests. All tests came back saying I have add. I am 39 years old. I have pretty much all the classic symptoms and ocd. When I was in school my mom had to wake me up at 5am on Friday mornings to recite my spelling words for the test. Of I studied the night before, I'd forget. I was also in remediation all through high school. I barely made it through, c and d student. Now I have about 7 projects started, none finished. I get easily irritated with small talk. I zone out all the time. And my fiancee has told me for years he thinks I have it. Any opinions?

GoalieMel33
01-29-17, 11:04 AM
There are no tests used to specifically diagnose ADHD and while online quizzes might give you a general idea, they aren't always the most reliable tools. It is usually done through an interview on your history (with you and/or someone who knows you well) and questionnaires/scales.

A lot of ADHD-like symptoms overlap with other conditions (including OCD, anxiety, depression, bipolar, learning disorder, etc) and a knowledgeable doctor will be able to differenciate between them.

Preferably a psychiatrist but a neupsychologist can help if a learning disability is suspected. Since your difficulties are affecting you, seeing a professional could be useful.

Free to Fly
01-29-17, 11:11 AM
Good possibility. Take some time and consider why you are asking us instead of going in? Are you doing this for him or for yourself? Do you want to add some tools to your toolbox to make your life better?

sarahsweets
01-29-17, 11:50 AM
Hello, I'm Annie. I have not been diagnosed with add yet by a Dr. I have done online research and taken tests. All tests came back saying I have add.