View Full Version : Creativity Lost

Itsnog
02-02-17, 08:38 PM
Hello all! I couldn't find a thread with this topic so I decided to make one. If I overlooked an existing thread it'd be amazing if someone directed me to it. That's all for the disclaimer. Now to my big question.

Do others that have ADD/ADHD struggle with their creativity once you take your medication?

Here is a little background on where I am in life right now. I am an aspiring writer one semester away from graduating with an English degree and a minor in professional writing. I personally love my ADD more than I hate it. I love the creativity that comes with it, I am able to jump from subject to subject with seemingly unconnected thoughts and ideas, but more importantly it allows me to create things, whether it be drawings, fiction stories, or course papers (sometimes). Now the negative sides to this are obviously the fact that I annoy everyone I am around easily, I repeat a lot of things to the point of annoyance, I avoid doing things I don't want to do (whether that be laundry, homework, chores, etc), and I push things off for longer than necessary (procrastination). These are the biggest flaws of mine. I HATE not being able to finish tasks with as much gusto as common folk (not saying that people without ADD are lesser, but they do not understand how our brains work).

Now onto how I am dealing with ADD.