View Full Version : Thinking I might have ADHD

evangeline1313
02-05-17, 11:33 AM
I'm a 20 yo med student, and my whole life I assumed I was just lazy and that everyone had the same trouble concentrating as me but that I was just too lazy to do something. These last few weeks I've been thinking maybe I have ADHD, and I'm not sure what to do-should I even get tested, or am I just making excuses for myself?

I don't remember how active I was as a kid, though I know I spaced out a lot. My friends teased me because I absolutely never payed attention to class, so I always startled and had to ask the teacher to repeat a question when I was called on. I can't seem to pay attention to classes nowadays either, I listen for the first 5 minutes and them drift off. I'm always fidgeting with something, I hate having to sit still (though I know I have to because it's polite).

I have trouble following conversations if there's anything the least bit distracting, like light background noise or multiple speakers. I have normal hearing though. I walk everywhere because I hate having to wait 3 minutes for a tram, and I often get off a few stops early because I can't stand it.

The only way I can study is either due to absolute panic a few days before exams, or if I physically remove absolutely any distraction (library-quiet, I don't take my phone, I'm to embarrassed to get up and walk). If not these two cases, I sit down with a book, read 2 sentences and then get up and do something else. Often while doing whatever I'm doing to procrastinate, I won't enjoy the action and I'll feel sick because I just want to do my task, but I'm unable to.