View Full Version : How do I handle mistakes made on the job prior to my diagnosis?

Zero_Escape
02-20-17, 11:55 PM
I discovered these forums a few weeks ago so I know screwing up at work is nothing new, but it's still tough to deal with. Especially when you let your coworkers down and discover the mistake could have been entirely avoided with a little more care. I just got diagnosed in January and was prescribed a small dosage of Ritalin. I feel like I need this adjusted slightly but I can still say that things are starting to improve for me. The problem now is I'm trying to get through a backlog of work and finding errors that are careless and clearly the result of me not reviewing or understanding my tasks well enough. The one that really makes me cringe is a quota I messed up (I work in sales administration) so now I'm feeling guilty about giving one of the sales reps an unfair advantage. The medication has already helped but it doesn't overwrite the mistakes of the past. I'm kind of embarrassed about some of the more idiotic oversights. Two questions...what is the best way to own up to the mistakes? Also, has anyone else experienced a similar situation of finding careless errors after the fact? Thanks everyone!

sarahsweets
02-21-17, 05:22 AM
The one that really makes me cringe is a quota I messed up (I work in sales administration) so now I'm feeling guilty about giving one of the sales reps an unfair advantage. The medication has already helped but it doesn't overwrite the mistakes of the past. I'm kind of embarrassed about some of the more idiotic oversights. Two questions...what is the best way to own up to the mistakes? Also, has anyone else experienced a similar situation of finding careless errors after the fact? Thanks everyone!
How did you give someone the unfair advantage? Can you elaborate?