View Full Version : My loved ones get frustrated with me

gimp666
03-02-17, 11:17 PM
Hi, this is my first time posting here. I'm 35, and have been diagnosed with ADHD since I was 7 years old. I've been listening to friends and family tell me I'm exhausting to be around my entire life, and I'm never really sure how to respond to that. It's especially difficult now that I live a couple of hours away from most of my family, so when I go to visit them, I'm there for multiple days.

Sometimes it feels like there's no winning. When I'm not on my meds, I overwhelm my family and friends, and when I am on them I keep getting asked if everything's okay, if I'm upset etc. because I'm quieter and mellowed out. When I don't visit for awhile to give them space, they keep asking when I'm going to come down and visit them and tell me they miss me, but then once I go down to see them they start getting frustrated and annoyed again within 1-2 days.

It feels like an endless cycle, and I find myself torn a lot between feeling guilty for stressing them out, and hurt that they don't seem to realize how painful it is to hear. I know that they love me, and they mean well.

Does anyone else experience this? How do you deal with it?

peripatetic
03-03-17, 01:34 AM
welcome to the forums. i hear you. i've had that happen. i don't know that i necessarily have a way to deal with it that's constructive though. i'm curious to see if someone does. i feel like i just end up avoiding people who give me a hard time. or i get annoyed and say the wrong thing and then they end up avoiding me.

Postulate
03-03-17, 02:16 PM