View Full Version : Positives and negatives on Adderall so far

zolscody
03-04-17, 03:19 PM
Hello, everyone. I'm come to realize that I have a love/hate relationship with Adderall. When I take it and it's "working", all my anxiety disappears, my stream of thought are more clear, my writing in more fluid (I'm an author). It's a little weird to get used to this "new person" I become. I never knew how severely ADD I was until I got on this medication. Forever I was told it was bi-polar and my new doctor suspects just severely ADD and high anxiety.

BUT, it's hard trying to figure out doses, when to take it to avoid crashes, splitting the doses etc. I know it's going to take a while to figure it out, but I work about a few things.

1) that I will never be able NOT to take it (take a "vacation") because my symptoms are too severe without it

2)I will become TOO dependent on it because it makes me feel "normal". My last dose wore off at 8pm and I couldn't wait until the next day so I could start over.

3)Trying to manage the crashes. I'm experimenting (with doctors permission) dose amount, times etc. I just can't exceed 40mg a day. I'm keeping a tight log about when and dosage to see what works best. So far I've noticed that no matter the dosage, I get 3 hrs on it and then I crash.

I also take Prozac, Lamictal and a very low dose of Seroquel for sleep. I've been on that cocktail for YEARS. I also have Kolonpin as needed.

I'm wondering if the XR would be a better option? Which do you prefer? XR or IR?

Thank you!!

Swissy
03-04-17, 05:57 PM