View Full Version : Switching to Desoxyn from Vyvanse -- looking for dosing experience

chronological
03-25-17, 01:41 PM
I've developed tolerance to 140mg Vyvanse (i'm obese -- BMI of 46 -- hence the dose being over 70mg) and so my doc is having me try out Desoxyn. He's a psychiatrist specializing in ADHD and I've been working with him for a couple of years now, so he knows me and is happy to let me drive the titration. He's told me to just keep pushing the dose up until I hit therapeutic effect, but I'll only take it so far before double checking with him. What I'd like some help with is, how far should that be.

So far, here's what I know/believe:

The FDA guidelines say that the "usual effective dose is 20 to 25 In a meeting daily", however I am assured by my doc that such FDA guidelines are not gospel; e.g. the FDA limit for Vyvanse is 70mg, but as I say I had to go up to 140mg to get that working.
Just as with the Vyvanse, it is likely I'll have to exceed that normal daily limit for Desoxyn because of my weight. My doc is not only allowing for that, he expects it. He's told me to take it up fast to 25mg or so, and then titrate up from there
I've already taken the Desoxyn up to 35mg with no significant effect yet
However, in terms of equivalences, I found an online calculator that puts 140mg Vyvanse as equivalent to only 15mg Desoxyn (those being equivalent to 30mg Adderall IR).

So I'll probably keep moving up, 5 or 10mg a day, until I hit 50mg, but I'm a bit nervous about just keeping on above that point. My doc did say just keep going, but I'd like to double check with him at some point, if I see it needing to inch up towards 100mg.

So, does anyone either have direct experience (in the context of working with a doc rather than self-experimentation), or can point me at some good literature? As usual, a basic Google search throws up only the standard "20 to 25mg" kinda thing, and that's no use to me.