View Full Version : Adderall question (IR and XR comparison) and doc visit tomorrow

brenaggie
03-30-17, 04:34 PM
Okay i've been taking Adderall XR 30mg for a while now. Probably like 6 months. I'm a student at college being treated for ADD.

After 3 months of use i went back to the doc and said i needed a booster IR dose for the afternoons. He had no hesitation in prescribing an additional Adderall 20mg IR tablet.

How'd it work?
I seem to MUCH prefer the Instant Release tablet. The XR just seems so inconsistent to me. I'll definitely always notice the effects for the first few hours, and then at the 4-6 hour mark most of the time I question if the second part of the release has even come or if it even will. So then I take a booster dose and definitely feel focused.

In my experience I seem to still make stupid dumb mistakes on Adderall XR, and it just feels like for 10 minutes im focused and good, but then the next 10 minutes i'm back to the unmedicated me. Just feels so inconsistent. Whereas with the IR version I feel more focused for 3-4 hours. I also like the control factor I have with the IR version in terms of being able to split up the dose and control when to take it.

I'm 5 foot 9 and 140 pounds btw. Never dropped a pound while taking Adderall. Mainly because i still get hungry, and if i don't eat, i feel terrible, even on Adderalls. More on the XR though, especially around the 4 hour mark where the next dose apparently kicks in. Also noticed when I take a test for school on the XRs i still don't do as good as i would on the IR.

I think i'm just going to ask him if i can switch my current prescription (Adderall XR 30mg morning and Adderall IR 20mg booster as needed) to just Adderall IR 3-4 times a day. Not sure what dosage he'd give me. When i switched to Adderall 30mg xr from Vyvanse 50mg i was a lil shocked that he started straight off to 30mg xr (max dose)

Anyone else have any experience with this? Please let me know!

PaulCamR
03-30-17, 07:33 PM