View Full Version : Traveling Job with Controlled Substances. What else can I do?

Gordon Ricketts
04-02-17, 08:32 AM
I am currently a government contractor and I travel throughout the United States and occasionally overseas. I also currently take 60mg of Vyvanse and 10mg adderall. The issue here is that they are both controlled substances to the point of making them near impossible to get away from a primary psychiatric doctor.

I have now currently been off my medicine for 2 weeks now and off my recommended dosage for all my medicine for about a month. Things are starting to effect my job and personal life. What can I do to get a prescription when I am 24hrs from home?

Things I have already tried:
1.) Meet with a doctor here. New patients require 30 days before being seen so this is no longer an option.

2.) Trying an online video doctor. All covered by my insurance are not allowed to prescribe controlled substances through video according to the video apps rules and regulations.

3.) Getting in touch with my doctor back home. Every time I call they are with a patient and don't return my phone calls, messages, or requests. Asking them to write me a prescription and sending it to a pharmacy doesn't make them any money so they don't seem to be interested.

4.) Trying other medicine. Strattera and Wellbutrin were recommended to me from an online video doctor even though my vyvanse works very well. My insurance will not accept coverage of either medications and strattera was $1000 to get it so I didn't even ask about the Wellbutrin. This is no longer an option.

I seem to have exhausted all options of getting my medicine right now except for maybe one but I want to hear what you all think. I'm struggling here, can anyone shed a little light?

Thanks and best regards,
Gordon

finallyfound10
04-02-17, 01:34 PM
WELCOME!!

First, I hope that isn't your real name and if it is change it ASAP!