View Full Version : Less effective when sick / stressed

Friendlyriver
04-12-17, 10:52 PM
So I feel like a nut-case (again). My meds (dex ir) were working awesome for the past few months. Took me a while to dial in the perfect dose, but it's been going pretty good!
But I have been fighting a chronic sinus infection for 2 months. My sleep has gotten ****ty, and I have been so sick I've been put on a crazy anti biotic that makes me feel aweful. On top of that, my poor wife was just diagnosed with post-partum anxiety. On top of that, we have 3 wonderful and very busy boys. And no family near by. And my eldest brought home lice last week...
my wife is stable now, but I have just fallen apart physically, and am getting a CT tomorrow to see what the heck is going on in my head and sinuses.
So I'm exhausted - we all are.
And my meds suddenly feel like a placebo. I'm so scared they have stopped working and I'm screwed. My ADDled mind starts thinking so I need a higher dose?? Why am I not as well controlled anymore.
So I need some reassurance. Do your meds stop working when super sick/tired/stressed/overworked/ and generally unwell? I'm also so fussed up from the antibiotic too.

I need someone to tell me it's ok and Dint mess with your dexedrine. It will work fine once I am healthy, well rested etc. Right?....

Thanks.
I'm freakin out. My life changed when I got on the right dose of Dexedrine. I don't want to go back to the way it was...

Greyhound1
04-12-17, 11:12 PM
I think its perfectly normal in my experience for Dex, Adderall and Vyvanse all to feel as though they have stopped working under great stress or anxiety. They haven't stopped working and they will rebound as stress levels go down. Being sick is also a huge stressor on the body.

Getting over the infection and lowering stress levels are the key. I would consider working on these issues first before adjusting your Dex. I have never found a dose that worked when I was overly stressed.