View Full Version : Managing Adderall prescription while moving to UK?

cavendishes
05-18-17, 10:30 PM
Sometime lurker, first time poster! I'm posting because I've finally run into a problem that has me looking for advice, especially from people who've had experience moving abroad. I'm in my last year of college in the US and am going to move to the UK next fall for graduate school, which I'm very excited about! However, I'm confused and concerned about the specifics of acquiring meds in the UK as a temporary expat. I'd definitely like to avoid losing something that's important for managing my ADHD right as I go into one of the most intense academic environments of my life, if possible.

After getting diagnosed early on in college, I worked with a psychiatrist to test out a bunch of different meds and doses, and eventually determined that although Ritalin does very little for me, Adderall can be helpful. Google tells me that in the UK, Adderall isn't a licensed drug. Further googling indicated that this means that it won't be covered by the NHS, but that healthcare professionals can legally prescribe (some?) unlicensed medications if they feel they're necessary: https://www.gov.uk/drug-safety-update/off-label-or-unlicensed-use-of-medicines-prescribers-responsibilities - is that right? I also can't tell whether Adderall would fall under the umbrella of drugs that could be prescribed anyways, or if any attempt to get Adderall would automatically be illegal. Although I'd prefer to stick with what's been working (it does scare me to consider swapping right before such a critical phase of my education, but I do have the summer to work with my psychiatrist to test meds that are more available in the UK, if it comes to it), I'm certainly not so wedded to that preference that I'd be willing to break the law for it.