View Full Version : This sucks.

ThisIsBoring
06-01-17, 03:03 PM
I will try to keep it brief.

My job is all about paperwork. I am so far behind it isn't funny. Someone with a gun to my head couldn't motivate me at this point. Every day, I come in, and I make new excuses. Part of the reason is because it's boring. Part of the reason is because I get distracted. And part of it is because if one more person critiques my work and comments on my "lack of attention to detail" well...it's not going to be good.

I need to figure out a solution to all this, ASAP.

Short explanation- I need this job and cannot work anywhere else for the foreseeable future due to circumstances beyond my control. Please respect this, as I'm here to discuss ADHD, not that topic.

I also work as a waitress...where I do perfectly fine, because everything is chaotic and busy and not boring. If I could do that type of job full-time, I would.

In school, I was smart but bored easily. Never paid attention, did well here and there if I found something interesting. College, I got a B+ in Calculus (because it was interesting/hard) and I would get low Bs/Cs in stupid general ed classes. Always forgetful, always scatterbrained.

I talk a lot and constantly interrupt people no matter how much I don't want to. I just do.

The part of my job that involves interacting with people, I'm really good at. I like talking to people and helping them understand things. I'm good at that sort of thing, ironically.

If it's written down, I can learn it, which is why I did good in college. If you explain verbal instructions, you might as well not bother, because I CANNOT learn things that way. I had such problems in the military with that- explain something really quickly, and then we have to do it. I was always confused.

I have an appointment soon with WPIC UPMC in Pittsburgh if anyone has ever gone there.